The urban renewal project Groenblauw bxl (greenblue bxl) brings edible vegetation into the city, such as herbs, fruit and vegetables. Atelier Groot Eiland  for example, works with local residents and organisations to promote biodiversity in the southern area of Brussels’ city centre.

In 2021, seven neighbourhood structures received an insect hotel, nesting box and plants. A meeting place was established in the vegetable garden at Atelier Groot Eiland for sustainable education activities. Edible vegetation is grown in the playground at De Kleurdoos primary school and a fun installation collects rain water.

Would you like to start your own green-blue project with your neighbours or organisation? The bilingual website provides files containing practical details with step-by-step plans and information about the various kinds of edible vegetation.

More green for people and animals is important for biodiversity, peace and quiet, cooling and water collection. Stadspiratie idea.

Groenblauw bxl responds to ideas from Stadspiratie.  

© Atelier Groot Eiland

Le projet de rénovation urbaine Groenblauw bxl (Vertbleu bxl) consiste à introduire de la végétation comestible dans la ville. Il peut s’agir d’épices, de fruits ou de légumes. C’est ainsi que  Atelier Groot Eiland favorise la biodiversité en collaboration avec des habitants de son quartier et des associations dans le Pentagone sud.

En 2021, 7 infrastructures ou services de proximité ont ainsi reçu un hôtel à insectes, un nichoir et des plantes. Un lieu de rencontre a été aménagé dans le potager de l’Atelier Groot Eiland, pour y accueillir des activités relatives à l’éducation durable. De la végétation comestible pousse dans la cour de récréation de l’école fondamentale De Kleurdoos et une installation ludique permet la récupération de l’eau de pluie.

Souhaitez-vous aussi lancer un projet vert-bleu avec des voisins ou une association ? Vous trouverez sur le site bilingue des fiches pratiques avec des plans par étape et des informations relatives aux différents types de végétation comestible.

Plus de vert pour les gens et les animaux, c’est important pour la biodiversité, le calme, la fraîcheur et la récupération des

eaux. Idée de Stadspiratie

Vertbleu bxl répond à des idées tirées de Stadspiratie

© Atelier Groot Eiland